GivingKekumano Scholarship Dinner

GivingKekumano Scholarship Dinner

Kekumano Award & Scholarship Benefit Dinner

The Kekumano Award & Scholarship Benefit Dinner celebrates and perpetuates the spirit of service to others and giving back to the community. It was established in memory of Monsignor Charles A. Kekumano’s selfless contributions to our community.

The Monsignor Charles A. Kekumano “Noblesse Oblige” Award for Service is given to those who devote their talent to the service of others. It honors those who give both example and meaning to Maryknoll’s motto, Noblesse Oblige – “to whom much is given, much is expected.”

The Monsignor Charles A. Kekumano Scholarship was established in 1998 and is awarded annually to a returning Maryknoll student who will be a junior or senior during the following academic year. An additional 15 Kekumano scholarships are awarded yearly to 5 high school students, 5 middle school students, and 5 elementary students. A total of $40,000 is awarded in Kekumano Scholarships every year.

The 2017 dinner will be held on Saturday, May 13, 2017. 

Details on how to purchase a table or make a donation to the dinner will be finalized soon. Mahalo!

Previous “Noblesse Oblige” Award Winners

  • 1998 Monsignor Charles A. Kekumano
  • 1999 Dr. Livingston Wong ’48 and James Gahler
  • 2000 Mrs. Irmgard Farden Aluli
  • 2001 Mr. Jack and Mrs. Cha Thompson
  • 2002 Nina Keali’iwahamana Rapozo '54
  • 2003 Dr. Jorge G. Camara
  • 2004 Governor George R. Ariyoshi
  • 2006 Dr. Gabriel Ma
  • 2007 Mr. Wally K. Yonamine
  • 2008 Mr. Alfred M.K. Wong
  • 2009 Mr. Peter P.J. Ng
  • 2010 Mr. Galen I. Ho '63
  • 2011 Dr. Lawrence K.W. Tseu
  • 2012 Dr. Thomas & Mrs. Mi Kosasa
  • 2013 Mr. Larry Rodriguez
  • 2014 Ms. Ginny Tiu
  • 2015 Mr. Robert & Mrs. Frances Bean